Rock Cycle Rock Set - Kids Fun Science Bookstore

RXS Set of Rock Cycle Rocks

Regular price $7.95

There are 3 major families of rocks on the Earth's surface. Igneous rocks were once molten rock that crystallized and solidified into solid rocks. Sedimentary rocks weathered out of older rocks and cover 75% of the Earth's surface. Metamorphic rocks are rocks of change. Heat and pressure caused the minerals in the rocks to recrystallize forming new rocks stable at the higher heat and pressure.



This set of 12 rocks includes igneous rocks, sedimentary rocks, and metamorphic rocks. The kit of rocks includes each of the rocks listed above plus a mini microscope.

It is much easier for students to learn how to identify new rocks when they can handle the individual rocks as they learn to identify rocks that are found in each family.

They can also look closely at each rock with their mini microscope. Activity 1 in the SE Rock Cycle book includes pictures and information about each rock in this kit.

As students pick up and look at their rocks it helps them to remember differences and similarities. They can identify rocks near their home and when they are on vacation in different areas. 

Click here to see the textbooks

Myrna taught Earth Science in public school for a number of years. She introduced the topic of each science lesson at the beginning of the class. The video lessons are similar to the introductions she did in her classrooms. Each introduction is about 10 to 12 minutes long.

Click here to see the videos

This set of rocks is designed to be used with the textbooks and videos by Myrna Martin available on this site. 

Rocks are sent by First Class mail or USPS Priority Mail.

Share this Product

More from this collection